ENERGY STAR® Qualified New Homes

ENERGY STAR® qualified homes meet third-party verified energy performance standards, delivering significant energy savings and improved home comfort while protecting the environment.

Become an ENERGY STAR for New Homes Builder

Use the power of the ENERGY STAR symbol to sell your qualifying, energy efficient homes.

Contact City Green by phone (1.866.381.9995) or email to learn more or start building and marketing your energy efficient homes today.

About the ENERGY STAR for New Homes Initiative in Canada

ENERGY STAR is the international symbol of premium energy efficiency. The ENERGY STAR for New Homes Initiative uses the same logo as the familiar labeling program for appliances and electronics.

ENERGY STAR qualified homes are:

  • More energy efficient than those built to minimum building codes, helping to protect the environment.
  • More comfortable: warmer in the winter and cooler in the summer.
  • Less expensive to operate, thanks to efficient heating, cooling, and hot water systems
  • Independently tested and verified for best-in-class energy performance – offering peace of mind to homebuyers.

An ENERGY STAR qualified home has energy efficiency requirements including an EnerGuide rating of 81 or better and typically contains ENERGY STAR products throughout the home.

Natural Resources Canada’s (NRCan’s) Office of Energy Efficiency has promoted the international ENERGY STAR symbol in Canada since 2001. In 2005, NRCan expanded the ENERGY STAR initiative in Canada to include energy efficient new homes.

Minimum Requirements in Brief

Below is an outline of the minimum requirements for a home to be ENERGY STAR certified. Please read this list in conjunction with the ENERGY STAR Standard manual.

    1. Airtightness 2.5 ACH at 50 Pascal
    2. Minimum Effective thermal resistance for opaque assemblies based on HDD.
      • Unheated floors on ground above frost line require R10 nominal over entire area
    3. Wall and floor assemblies below or in contact with the ground have additional requirements
    4. Rim joists shall have a thermal resistance not less than that of walls above grade
    5. For ceilings below attics under sloped roofs, the thermal resistance shall be continuous to the outermost edge of the exterior wall.
    6. Windows and skylights, including tubular skylights, shall be ENERGY STAR certified for the climate zone in which they are installed (exceptions apply
    7. Exterior door systems shall be ENERGY STAR certified for the climate zone in which they are installed (exceptions apply).
    8. Where installed, natural gas or propane fireplaces shall be direct-vent with spark ignition (also referred to as “intermittent” or “on-demand”).
    9. The principal ventilation capacity for residential units shall be achieved through either a heat recovery ventilator (HRV), an energy recovery ventilator (ERV), or integrated mechanical system (IMS).
      • HRV/ERV must be ENERGY STAR or HVI certified and be tested at 0C and -25C
    10. Where a central forced air system is utilized either fully or in part to distribute ventilation air, the principal exhaust fan control shall be interconnected with the forced air distribution system such that switching on the principal exhaust fan operates the forced air distribution fan.
    11. Where installed, solid fuel burning appliances must be CAN/CSA-B415.1-10 or EPA 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart AAA certified
    12. Where installed, drain water heat recovery units must be found on NRCan’s product list
    13. Where installed, solar domestic hot water units must be CSA F379 Series-09 and F378.1-11 certified
    14. Duct sealing requirements
    15. A minimum of 400 kWh/yr in electrical savings
    16. Performance targets: EnerGuide 81